Class Notes April 2024


Some of the Trinity College Arbor Awards Recipients at the 2024 Ceremony and Reception.








Congratulations to members of the Trinity community who were recognized with 2023 Arbor Awards, U of T’s highest honour for volunteer service in January: Alyson M. Barnett-Cowan, Andrew J. Foley, Andrew M. Kavanagh, Sheila M. Royce, Richard Ruggle, Margaret R. Sinclair, Catherine Siemens, Ann Wilton, Bruce Winter and Peipei Yu. It was the first in-person Arbor Awards ceremony since 2019, and recipients from 2020, 2021 and 2022 were also invited to attend. Trinity Chancellor Brian Lawson ’82, himself a past Arbor Award recipient, spoke at the event. View pictures of the event here and read the awards citations here.

ELAINE CUDBIRD BAXTER ’46 celebrated her 100th birthday in April, with family from England, Ontario and the U.S. Her niece, Pat Laidlaw ’69, worked with the Trinity Alumni Affairs team to arrange a card from Provost Mayo Moran. Well-wishers spoke of Elaine’s lifelong commitment to education (she took university courses well into her 80s) and delighted in photos from her days at Trinity and St. Hilda’s.

FATHER BOHDAN HLADIO received his MTS from Trinity in 2021 and is currently in his third year of PhD studies in Theology. His commentary on the second anniversary of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine was published in The Hamilton Spectator in February.

JOHN JENNINGS ’64 is now a retired professor of history from Trent University, and author of The Cowboy Legend, a comparison of the real and popular images of the cowboy and of the western Canadian and American ranching frontiers. In 2019 he was awarded the Order of Ontario for his role in creating the Canadian Canoe Museum in Peterborough and for his writing on canoe history.

CATHERINE (MAHEU) LaJEUNESSE ’86 moved to The Bahamas with her husband, Andre, following a career in banking and financial services in Asia. In 2022, she co-founded the non-profit Coding Bahamas Future, dedicated to improving computer science education in public schools. She would love to connect with U of T alumni living in The Bahamas (

MAYO MORAN, Trinity Provost, has received two awards for her outstanding career achievements and exceptional contributions to a more just and equitable world. Provost Moran received the 2024 U of T Ludwik & Estelle Jus Memorial Human Rights Prize (Influential Leader) from U of T for her commitment to advance equity, diversity, inclusion (EDI), justice and human rights at U of T, in Canada and globally. She was also honoured with the 2024 The Law Society Medal from the Law Society of Canada for outstanding service within the profession and with the highest ideals of the legal profession.

MARY (WRIGHT) THOMAS ’64 and ROBERT THOMAS ’64 are leaving Winnipeg after over 50 years and returning to their roots in Ontario. They will now be dividing their time between Bracebridge (formerly the summer cottage) and Oxford, England, which is closer to their son and his family in London.

STEPHEN WANG ’14 recently returned to Toronto, where he is an attorney at Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP. After graduation, he spent four years building a social enterprise in China/Asia that was recognized by Forbes 30 Under 30 China, followed by five years in Boston and New York, practicing as a lawyer. He will be teaching a seminar on U.S.-China relations this fall at Harvard Law School, where he earned his J.D.

Large group of people
Catherine LaJeunesse (centre; holding mug) and Coding Bahamas Future co-founder Ryan Austin (on her left, wearing striped shirt) with instructors and teachers from their Introduction to Coding workshop.












DOMINIKA (KORPOVA) KRISTOF ’14 and spouse Oto Kristof welcomed baby Theo on December 21, 2021. Congratulations!



Our deepest condolences go to the families, friends and classmates of these members of the Trinity community.

BLACK, Martha ’68

BROWN, Bishop Terry, MDiv ’84, DTh ’87, Hon DD ’04

CANZI, Nancy Gwen Elizabeth ’56

CARSON, Ann Elizabeth (Beattie) ’51

DEACON, Pamela ’70

ERRINGTON, Frances Claire ’50

GODFREY, John ’65, DSL ’87

HEASLIP, Nona, Hon. DSL ’17, CM

MEDD, Gary ’65

PATRICK, James ’68

SMITH, Phyllis (Lowther) ’68

WATERSTON, Elizabeth (Hillman) ’44, CM, O.Ont, FRSC

WATSON, Professor Andrew Murray ’52 Trinity Fellow Emeritus

YULE, David ’58

Leave a reply